The metal



Live Videos

All Music

Tour Dates



Tour History


Civil War is a power metal band from FalunSweden formed in 2012 by several former members of Sabaton. The band adopted the same lyrical themes of war and historical battles that were characteristic of Sabaton.

In April 2012, guitarists Oskar Montelius and Rikard Sundén, drummer Daniel Mullback and keyboardist Daniel Mÿhr left the band Sabaton, of which they had been the founding members. They soon teamed up with Astral Doors  vocalist Nils Patrik Johansson to form a new band. Bassist Stefan 'Pizza' Eriksson was recruited to complete the Civil War lineup.

Initially signed to Despotz Records, the band released a self-titled EP in October 2012, and then immediately began working on their full length debut album. The Killer Angels was released in June 2013, and reached the Gold status in Sweden only two months later. At the same time, the band began playing live shows at various festivals in Sweden, and went on their first tour of Europe in February 2014. Guitarist Petrus Granar was added to the lineup as a seventh full-time member.

The band then signed a deal with Napalm Records and began working on their sophomore studio album, titled Gods and Generals, which was released in May 2015. Shortly before the release of the first single from the album, Bay of Pigs, the band announced that Oskar Montelius and Stefan Eriksson had both left Civil War. Rather than search for replacements, the band decided to continue as a five-piece.

Vocalist Nils Patrik Johansson departed the band in late 2016. The rest of the band members held open auditions for a new vocalist, finally settling on, Kelly Sundown Carpenter, who was announced on February 9th, 2017. 

Upcoming fourth studio album (2019-present)

On August 2, 2019, the band released the first song with Kelly on vocals, "Dead Man's Glory". They later announced on their website that they will soon start recording their fourth album.

Official Website

All Languages


Civil War  (EP, 2012)

The Killer Angels (2013)

Gods and Generals (2015) 

The Last Full Measure (2016)


Kelly Sundown Carpenter – vocals (2017-present)

Rikard Sundén — guitar (2012–present)

Petrus Granar — guitar (2014–present)

Daniel Mÿhr — keyboards (2012–present)

Daniel Mullback — drums (2012–present)

Former members

Nils Patrik Johansson — vocals (2012–2016)

Oskar Montelius — lead/rhythm guitar,       backing vocals (2012–2015)

Stefan 'Pizza' Eriksson — bass (2012–2015)

1 2 3 4 5